Inerrant Rampancy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

It’s Game Time!

…board game, that is.

hp_hive_tiles

I’m going to take a break from my regularly unscheduled rants to tell you about something awesome.

Hive

Now, I’m not usually all that into board games. I’ll play Monopoly, or Scrabble; I’ll even take some time out for Apples to Apples if I’m feeling adventurous. But that’s about it. However, I’m a big fan of things Wired Magazine recommends, and Hive just happened to show up in their latest issue.

I immediately checked out their website, which provides the rules of the game, details of how to purchase it, and even a nifty online version where you play against a bot. I read the rules (and a few tips) and then launched into a game, spending the next 35 minutes locked in a battle with what is probably a very dumb set of algorithms. I’m a bit embarrassed to say how long I played, because I’m pretty sure I should have won quicker, but I won just the same.

My prize? Being hooked.

This game is like chess, but way more interesting; you’re not caught up in so many pieces (Chess has 6 types and 16 iterations to Hive’s 5 and 11) or in how dumb you feel playing chess, so you’re more able to focus on strategies. And the strategies are simpler and more prone to change; since you don’t have to play all of your pieces, there’s always a chance for a late game-breaker.

I’m going to either pick this game up (online purchase), or make my own version of it (because I’m broke and don’t really care about supporting small-time game inventors), and I recommend others do it too. At the very least I’m going to need someone to play against.

June 4, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

