Inerrant Rampancy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Never Thought I’d Say It

…but my dad was right about these left-wing, liberal colleges.

Ok, don’t get me wrong here, I’m not completely dissatisfied with my graduate education so far. In fact, I am, on the whole, pleased and mildly surprised at how much I’m enjoying myself out here in mid-eastern America, and in higher-level academia in general. But I’m getting a little chapped at how over-the-top liberal my college is. I mean, it’s nothing crazy; they aren’t passing out copies of the manifesto or anything like that, it’s just that I’m starting to realize how leftist the overall pedagogical philosophy is out here. Case-in-point: In my Teaching Freshman Writing course, I’ve been inundated with texts that, at some point in their general rambling, proclaim that truth as it relates to facts and observation and even, I’m not fucking kidding, reality, is dead, having been replaced by the collective ideas of community and society. They tell me that the way the world should work, and in some instances how it does work, is that people say whatever they want and so long as the community at large agrees with them, they are correct and can participate in the general debate. Not that they have to be supported by fact or reality, they just have to orate until people agree with them or hold a position which is already tasteful and accepted. This ridiculous idea is supported by claiming that it’s the only way to make freshmen comfortable with writing. As though they would feel overly repressed and intimidated by such looming monsters as accuracy or adherence to empirical evidence.

I’m going to keep this short, mostly because I’m pressed for time but also because I don’t want to start ranting about leftism in general. I just want to point out that truth is not democratic, at least not in the way these texts would have you believe it is. People cannot just make things up and figure that the public at large will believe them so long as their argument is pretty or their posse is numerous. The basis of truth is that it is dependent on evidence and not on the people expounding it, so that an individual in firm grasp of incontrovertible fact cannot be held down by the masses. Fact is not a hindrance, you fucking hippies: it’s the virtue which makes stating your case a possibility even in the face of billions of detractors. It’s the intellectual gun that levels the playing field of academia.

February 5, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. yeah I think Peter Elbow is a foofy starchild too.

    Comment by Claire | February 6, 2009 | Reply

  2. Our late, unlamented governor Blago seems to adhere to the believe “People CAN just make things up and figure that the public at large will believe them so long as their argument is pretty (especially if based on the words of someone honorable and dead) or their posse is numerous.” Now there’s a case in point that illustrates the truth of your statement! Actually, the Blago version of your statement seems very popular with politicians, banking executives, and the media in this modern age.

    I repeat my feelings on your use of profanity. It cheapens the impact of your prose. Now you know your granny can swear with the best of them, but I have never attained my objective in a letter of complaint, for example, by using profanity–just the opposite. Besides, there are soooo many wonderfully pejorative adjectives to apply to @#$% idiots….

    Luv ya!

    Comment by Grandma B | February 6, 2009 | Reply

  3. I knew that giving you G.Gordon Liddy’s book “When I was a kid this was a free country” was a good move. Watch your back out there.

    Comment by Dad | March 3, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

